Home LEGO Monthly Mini Build LEGO Store March 2014 Mini Monthly Build Event & 40096 Review

LEGO Store March 2014 Mini Monthly Build Event & 40096 Review

0

LEGO March 2014 Mini Monthly Build Event

Yesterday was the March 2014 Mini Monthly Build event at my local LEGO Store (Fashion Valley, San Diego) and as usual, the place was packed with parents and kids building the Spring Tree (40096) set. It may seem from the images that the store was bombarded by families and customers but the staff on the floor had it all under control. I didn’t stay for the whole event but it looked like everything went smoothly.

LEGO March 2014 Mini Monthly Build Event

This month’s mini build was a 62 piece Spring Tree. It’s a simple built tree with eyes and a blue jay sitting on top. The piece count may be misleading since the build is made up of a lot of small pieces. It does come with some nice tan arch pieces but it looks off because the rest of the tree trunk is brown. The base is created with two 2×4 lime plates instead of a single 4×4 plate. I also didn’t understand the purpose of the eyes. Overall, it is just a tree with some wacky designs that kids can enjoy.

LEGO March 2014 Mini Monthly Build Spring Tree (40096) LEGO March 2014 Mini Monthly Build Spring Tree (40096)

LEGO March 2014 Mini Monthly Build Spring Tree (40096)

[easyreview title=”The Brick Fan Scoring Summary” cat1title=”Design” cat1detail=” ” cat1rating=”3.5″ cat2title=”Playability” cat2detail=” ” cat2rating=”3″ cat3title=”Value” cat3detail=” ” cat3rating=”5″ summary=” “]


0
When you make a purchase or, sometimes, carry out some other action as direct result of clicking on a link at The Brick Fan, we will receive a small commission. The Brick Fan is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.